top of page
Why choose the 10 series? 

The Classic Rolfing® "10 series" addresses all aspects of postural realignment, eliminating faschial binds that cause pain, restrict movement and prevent the body from accessing its own ability to heal.  Each hour of the 10 series targets a specific section of the body.  It is the specific order in which these parts are addressed in each hour of the 10 series that provides the maximum benefit:  freedom from restrictions and pain, and structural length and realignment. 


The Ten-Series can be divided into three distinct units:

Sessions 1-3:

Called the "sleeve” sessions, session 1-3 strive to loosen and balance surface layers of connective tissue.

Session 1 is devoted to enhancing the quality of breath with work on the arms, rib cage and diaphragm. Opening is also started along the upper leg, hamstrings, neck and spine.

Session 2 helps give the body a stable foundation by balancing the foot and muscles of the lower leg.

Session 3 typically involves a “side view” for an understanding of how the head, shoulder girdle, and hips are positionaly related to one another when standing under the influence of gravity. Then, the body is addressed within the context of this new vision.

Sessions 4-7:

Sessions 4-7 are referred to as “core” sessions and examine terrain found between the bottom of the pelvis and top of the head. The idea of core also includes the deep tissue of the legs for its role in support.

Session 4 begins this journey, its territory extends from the inside arch of the foot and up the leg, to the pelvic floor.

Session 5 is concerned with balancing surface and deep abdominal muscles to allow room for the legs and their relationship to the spine.

Session 6 seeks to enlist more support and moment from the legs, pelvis and lower back, while Session 7 turns its attention to the neck and head.

“Integration” is emphasized throughout the remaining three sessions, as Session 8-10 provide an opportunity for the practitioner to blend previously established advancements, and ones yet to be made, into the body in a way that encourages smooth movement and natural coordination.

Sessions 8 and 9.  The practitioner determines how best to achieve this integration, as the protocol is unique for each individual.

Session 10 is also one of integration, but more importantly, serves to inspire a sense of order and balance. Once completed, the wisdom of the Rolfing® Ten Series will drive and support the body with health for years to come.

bottom of page